Join Project Enough

I’m inspiring a movement to get women talking. It’s called Project Enough. I’m looking for someone who is interested to get involved who can help map out the business plan–as movements demand resources.

It’s called Project Enough because we’re enough, and we’ve had enough.

The goal is to empower women—make them feel strong, safe, worthy and confident. I’m doing this because I’ve personally struggled with a lot of what my generation faces–body shame, depression, anxiety–and the problem is none of us are talking about it.

The movement will grow into a full media company that targets female middle schoolers, high schoolers, women in their early twenties and connect them with older women as well.

The movement will include a website that incentivizes women to share their stories. The site will also connect girls and women across the age spectrum in forums, a mentoring capacity and events locally, nationally and even internationally. The site should be free.

As I mentioned I’m looking for someone to support this idea with a business strategy. Are you, or someone you know, experienced in creating business plans, and would you like to help? I will be posting this on kickstarter once I have all the ducks in a row. Let me know if you’d like to help-or know someone who wants to be involved. Men are welcome to get involved as well.

My reaction to Gender Armageddon and the Broken Women’s Movement [video]

This video was created in response to an article I saw tonight called “Gender Armageddon and the Broken Women’s Movement.” Amy Siskind, retired Wall St. Exec and founder of an interesting site called The New Agenda writes in Huff Po:

Lately, I’ve become obsessed with Girls, the new HBO series about women in their 20s. Not in a joyful way. In a worried, watching a car wreck kind of way.

Okay, I’ll own it. The reason I’m mesmerized by the girls in Girls — the hapless, aimless, tragic victims — is because of guilt. We’ve let these young women down. We were tone deaf to their generation’s needs and struggles, and failed to support and equip them with tools to thrive and succeed. Instead, we’ve allowed the media complex, with its 97% male top brass, to fill the void and define our young women and girls as sexualized, often victimized, objects. Today, 3 of 4 teen girls feel depressed, guilty and shameful.

I agree with Amy in so many ways, and I believe this was what Lena Dunham captures with her show “GIRLS,” ironic title (not yet women, not quite young girls). She is the first producer I’ve seen actually capture the dark stuff–the awkwardness of sex in an age where the media gives men some warped ideas around what is sexy, and leaves women largely out of that conversation (GIRLS characters Adam and Hannah’s relationship). Hannah makes bad decisions time and again, and looks for love in all the wrong places, but you can’t dislike her, because on some level you have been her.

In addition “Gender Armageddon” writer Amy created a roundup of this month’s anti-woman news:

Just this month, Patti Hart (Yahoo) and Ina Drew (JP Morgan) ‘stepped down’ for the misdeeds of their male counterparts. The Cannes Film Festival brushed off criticism of it’s all male line-up. Women’s Professional Soccer folded. TIME wondered if we were mom enough. Men moved into jobs traditionally held by women, then leapfrogged us up the glass escalator into management. The Catholic Bishops announced an investigation of the Girl Scouts. Shall I continue?

I feel that a new movement is necessary to address relevant issues affecting women everywhere, including the hugely important Gen Y (and our little sisters). What Lena Dunham drives home in her show, and what Amy gets at in her article, is that we haven’t prepared girls for adulthood, and the tough stuff that hits us at younger and younger ages (as we grow up faster). I believe we need to take a stand against the media, be strong for ourselves, and stand up against the organizational structures and systems that keep us down. What we don’t realize is how much power we already have, but we choose not to exercise.